The music of TRON

Current News

Moderator: Moderators

subsonic
Site Admin
Site Admin

The music of TRON

Post by subsonic » Dec Fri 10, 2010 1:33 pm

I grew up with TRON. Just like EPCOT and the beginning era of personal computers I was right in my prime to absorb technology and innovation. Without a doubt I have been influenced by all of the above. I am now a full time software engineer developing websites. I'm a geek. I love technology. But, this isn't about that. This is about the music of TRON.

I have watched TRON countless times over the years. I played the arcade game every visit to Disneyland. And I have listened to the soundtrack even more. While not a very complex score, the composer, Wendy Carlos, captured an electronic feel very well. The use of synthetic instruments made it feel like users were really in a computer.

We all know about the upcoming release of TRON:Legacy. Disney's been marketing TRON:Legacy like mad. From the mass trailers and billboards, to elecTRONica, to World of Color. I'm sure most members of Subsonic Radio know that Daft Punk has composed the music for TRON:Legacy. I have a read a few articles stating that the group are huge fans of the original TRON movie and will be sure to encapsulate the feeling of the original. Recently, Disney released the soundtrack and, I have to say, I'm disappointed. For the most part the music is electronic feeling but it's a little too slow and dark for what I expect of TRON. Worst of all, I was expecting the original music by Wendy Carlos to be remixed (after all, they are DJ's) and/or interwoven into this newer soundtrack. I recall movies like Mission:Impossible or Lost In Space which have had their music updated. I love stuff like this when done well.